Ashley Herndon
Graphic Design/Printing Instructor

Ist year graphic design teacher

Hello. I am a new to teaching graphic design. I have been teaching fine arts for the past 6 years.

I came into a great job. There is no curriculum, no sequence learning and I feel like I am treading water. I want to make sure my students are prepared and learning it in a way they are really going to grasp the concepts, tools and how to use the programs efficiently. I have started in Illustrator, but not sure how to teach (like where to start, do I do one tool at a time with an activity, etc.) I feel like I am jumping ahead a little too much, then end up back tracking. 

I also have 1st years and 2nd years in the same class and I feel it difficult to teach and have time for both. I have a 3hour class, morning and afternoon and I teach the same kids everyday. 

Please help!! Any suggestions are very much appreciated!!!! 

Products
Ratings
5 / 5 • 7 Ratings

Comments (26)

Write a reply...
or Join for free to view all comments and participate in the discussion.

Sylvan Adams

Posted on Aug 12, 2016 5:26:59 AM Permalink

Sylvan Adams

Posted on Aug 12, 2016 4:48:24 AM Permalink

Greetings, my dear.....I feel your panic and rocking on this boat can make one ill :)

I found great ideas through this Adobe Education Exchange, but also through a curriculum model from Texas on Digital Arts and Literacy...I will look for it and send it to you....I downloaded lots of ideas from here:

http://txculturaltrust.org/programs/arts-education/