Header
will milne
Photographer and Photography Educator

The New ACA Exam for Photoshop CC 2015 is too Difficult

The recently released ACA Exam for Photoshop CC 2015 is too difficult and not focused on real world users. I am an Adobe Certified Instructor and Photoshop ACE certified and have been working with high school students to prep for Adobe certification for the past eight years. In my experience, the most recent version of this exam needs to have some adjustments made in order to be better for both Adobe and test takers.

The exam is supposed to be designed for people with around 2 years Photoshop experience, but the newest version of the test is much more advanced. Having worked on test and practice test questions for ACE and ACA tests before, I would say that the questions in the new ACA exam are actually at the ACE. I am currently having my students take the 2013 test instead of the 2015 one because of the issues I've outlined here, but I wanted to check and see if anyone else has noticed the new test being abnormally difficult or if there was some reasoning behind the changes.

Comments (57)

Write a reply...
or Join for free to view all comments and participate in the discussion.

Erol Sommer

Posted on 12/6/18 1:10:24 PM Permalink

​agreed

Ahmed Belal

Posted on 12/2/18 5:38:20 AM Permalink

​Thanks for sharing

nova rollo

Posted on 7/28/18 12:54:46 AM Permalink

Is anyone having students at Practicum Level (CTE) test for ACE? Is this too advanced? My feeling is that it is and ACA would be better suited for a student with a minimum of two years in the cluster. (PS & Ill)​

arab benabdelouahab

Posted on 7/20/18 5:39:35 PM Permalink

I think so, some questions about understanding are very long and they take a long time to be read and answered.

I practiced at home with Gmetrix tests and I got almost all the questions right, but with when I took the ACA test the questions were confusing and not clear.