NICOLE DALESIO
Technology Integration ToSA

How should we teach digital citizenship and responsibility with younger students?

As a K-5 teacher, I'm faced with the challenge of how to teach digital citizenship and responsibility with younger students.  The problem is that children under the age of 13 are not technically allowed to have their own email accounts and therefore are supposedly excluded from participating on social networking sites.  However, many of them, I find, do anyway!  Isn't this the best time to be tallking about it? How should we address this?  What kinds of discussions should we be having?

Ratings
5 / 5 • 7 Ratings

Comments (21)

Write a reply...
or Join for free to view all comments and participate in the discussion.

S Luke

Posted on Jul 4, 2017 4:18:13 AM Permalink

While I certainly don't have the answers, I believe a piece of this responsibility begins with teachers and school personnel. Responsible social media usage and digital citizenship should be a goal of the faculty for school systems. It should begin with us as leaders in our own families and circles. If faculty and staff can model good online behavior and speak about it from a personal perspective with other parents and in community settings, maybe we begin to create awareness and shift the tide that has become a problem for children and adults.

Jeanne Roy

Posted on Nov 5, 2015 7:06:34 PM Permalink

New to this discussion forum. Great resources that I will add to my "check it out" folder.