Teaching good work ethic and leadership skills in the classroom.

Posted on Nov 7, 2015 by Brent Jaffe Latest activity: Aug 7, 2017

8 13,152
  • 5/5 | 8 Ratings

I am a high school media teacher that teaches an introductory class in digital media to 9th graders. I feel that the maturity and skill level of my students requires that I provide a lot of control over the procedures and steps to the point that they do not have to take on a lot of responsibility and leadership for the projects they work on. But, soft skills and leadership are supposed to be incorporated into my class. The classes they take after mine incorporate much more independent work. I'm looking for suggestions or references that can help me begin building these skills in my class.

Comments (8)

Angela Wong

Posted on Feb 25, 2017 10:53:38 PM - Permalink

​I'm not sure if you're still looking for feedback as your post is from some time ago, but here goes. I have a work ethic block on my project rubrics that lists the following criteria:

1. Used class time effectively and came to class prepared.
  2. Demonstrated perseverance and problem solving throughout the project.
  3. Actively participated in class and followed along with class demos.
  4. All work handed in on time, submitted to Google Classroom.

I also give them a participation score for participating actively in the project critiques at the end of major assignments. They need to have their project submitted on time to participate so if they don't, it's a zero that cannot be made up.

Another option that I started to use last year is Google Classroom. It's a wonderful platform to share the lessons with the students, including the due dates and supporting material. It lets you know exactly when something is late and you can email only those students who have not submitted the assignment to you yet through Classroom. ​It also puts the responsibility squarely on their shoulders in a way that seemed to be clearer to my students.