ACA vs. ACE?

Posted on Apr 24, 2014 by Kimberly Larson Latest activity: Jul 23, 2014

6 2,192
  • 3 Ratings

What are your thoughts on ACE /ACI (Adobe Certified Expert / Instructor) vs ACA (Adobe Certified Associate / Educator)?

The reason I ask is that I am a high school graphics teacher who LOVES Adobe Illustrator! I have my ACE in Adobe Illustrator CS5, CS6, and CC. I looked into becoming an ACI (Adobe Certified Instructor) but because of my full time high school teaching status I was told that I wasn't the right fit. I was told that I could get my Adobe Educator Certificate but I would have to take the ACA test(s). I have not taken any of the ACA tests yet as the ACA is an entry-level test and the ACE is the Expert test with years of experience. The experience of getting my ACE in Illustrator was extremely beneficial and I'm going to take my Photoshop ACE this summer. Does anyone have both their "Adobe Certified Instructor" and "Adobe Certified Associate Educator"? Again, I have not taken any of the ACA tests, I'm judging by the review material. Any thoughts or suggestions would be wonderful.

Comments (6)

Chris Holbrook

Posted on Jul 23, 2014 1:21 PM - Permalink

Kimberly,

Great question! I am going through this same process with Premiere Pro and Photoshop at the moment. I would love to hear your final decision. I have completed all of the ACA-E requirements except for the fee, and am preparing to take the ACE.

I don't know if the ACA-E and ACE are both certifications we can promote at the same time. If I had to pick, I'd say my full-time employer and freelance employers would be more satisfied with the ACE. Being an educator we get 50% off the ACE test. So, the price of the ACE exam comes to about the same as ACA-E.

Christina MacLaughlin

Posted on Jul 15, 2014 8:39 PM - Permalink