Co-teaching

Posted on Feb 22, 2013 by Amy Evans Latest activity: Sep 25, 2013

6 3,230
  • No Ratings

I know several teachers today that are being asked to co-teach subjects with their peers. However, it seems to me that there is a severe lack of training in best-practice for co-teaching skills. Is your district asking teachers to co-teach? Are they providing education as to how to do this successfully? Do you buy into the idea that co-teaching is better for students?

Comments (6)

Nancy Parker

Posted on Sep 25, 2013 10:50 PM - Permalink

Hi Amy, I had one opportunity to co-teach. There was absolutely no training involved. It seemed like I was doing the teaching and the other teacher was more an observer. I later found out that the reason for calling it a co-teaching class was to be able to pack double the number of students in the class and get by the fact that the other teacher was not certified to teach the content. While I was a teacher-on-assignment I visited many classes in many districts. I never observed a class where the practice was in place. I do hope to hear from the teachers if there are any successful cases.

Ross Wallis

Posted on Jul 31, 2013 5:47 PM - Permalink

I love the idea of co-teaching or team teaching, and we do a lot of it in my faculty. I am completely convinced that it is great for students to have some of this - to get a variety of teaching styles and methods, not all the time, and not for all subjects, but at least some of the time. A lecture could be given to 100 students all at once rather than four times to 25 students. If I am working with my colleagues, I up my game, as I am aware that I am being observed as well, and I am sure that I perform better. It also does our self esteem good when we compliment each other on the content that we bring to the classes.

Lukas Engqvist

Posted on Jul 19, 2013 6:43 PM - Permalink